Oklahoma’s Bill Bedenbaugh Named As Broyles Award Semifinalists

On Tuesday the Frank and Barbara Broyles Foundation released the names of 15 semifinalists for the 2017 Broyles Award. Included on the list is Oklahoma co-offensive coordinator and line coach Bill Bedenbaugh.

The 15 semi-finalists are:
Alabama – Brian Daboll, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Auburn – Kevin Steele, Defensive Coordinator
Clemson – Tony Elliot, Co–Offensive Coordinator, Running Backs
Georgia – Mel Tucker, Defensive Coordinator
Iowa State – Jon Heacock, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
Miami – Manny Diaz, Defensive Coordinator
Mississippi State – Todd Grantham, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Notre Dame – Mike Elko, Defensive Coordinator
Oklahoma – Bill Bedenbaugh, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
TCU – Chad Glasgow, Defensive Coordinator
UCF – Troy Walters, Offensive Coordinator
USC – Tee Martin, Offensive Coordinator/WR
Washington – Pete Kwiatkowski, Defensive Coordinator
Washington State – Alex Grinch, Defensive Coordinator / Secondary
Wisconsin – Jim Leonhard, Defensive Coordinator

Of the list, five finalists will be chosen to attend the awards ceremony in Little Rock, Arkansas where the winner will be announced on December 5th.

Bedenbaugh joined the Oklahoma coaching staff prior to the 2013 season and has since coached seven All Conference linemen.

The Broyles Award is given to the nation’s top assistant football coach.


Leave a Reply