Oklahoma Sooners

Sooners Dominate Big 12 All-Conference Awards…Again

M. Hofeld


It what has become a regular occurrence, following a collegiate football season, the Big 12 postseason awards are a regular who’s who of Oklahoma talent.

A total of eleven players from the University of Oklahoma were named either first or second team All-Conference, with seven of those being first teamers. In addition, several Sooners were selected to receive individual awards as well.

First Team

Kyler Murray became the fourth consecutive, and eighth overall, Oklahoma player to win the Offensive Player of the Year award. He joins Dede Westbrook (2016) and quarterbacks Mayfield (2015 and 2017), Sam Bradford (2008), Jason White (2003 and 2004) and Josh Heupel (2000) in receiving the honor.

Austin Seibert became the first Oklahoma player voted as Special Teams Player of the Year.

Dru Samia became Oklahoma’s third-consecutive offensive lineman to receive the Offensive Lineman of the Year award.

Finally, Lincoln Riley was named Coach of the Year for the first time.

Oklahoma has won the most individual awards in the 22-year history of the Big 12 with 43.

Second Team


Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: