Oklahoma 55 – Florida 20 | The Records That Fell

While Florida is making excuses for getting blown out on Wednesday night at a record-breaking pace, it was Oklahoma who actually shattered meaningful records during the Cotton Bowl. Here’s a closer look at just how dominant the Sooners were.

• Oklahoma set bowl game program records with 55 points and 684 total yards. Previous records were 48 points (reached four times — in the 1958 Orange Bowl vs. Duke, 1991 Gator Bowl vs. Virginia, 2011 Fiesta Bowl vs. UConn and 2018 Rose Bowl vs. Georgia) and 618 total yards (set in the 1991 Gator Bowl).
• The 35-point margin of victory matched an OU bowl game record. The Sooners also defeated LSU 35-0 in the 1950 Sugar Bowl (1949 season).
• OU’s 435 rushing yards were its second most in a bowl game and the most in any contest since tallying 510 vs. Kansas in 2014 (the Samaje Perine game). The OU bowl game record is 439 rushing yards in the 1972 Sugar Bowl vs. Auburn (1971 season).
• The Sooners set a Cotton Bowl record by averaging 10.9 yards per rush (435 yards on 40 carries). It was the second-best average in school history (11.7 at Kansas State in 1971).

• OU has scored at least 27 points in a school-record 63 consecutive contests. The next longest streak nationally since at least 1980 is 31 by UCF (2017-19). The next longest active streak is 23 games by Alabama.
• Oklahoma’s 97-yard scoring drive in the fourth quarter that resulted in a 20-yard TD reception by Charleston Rambo tied a Cotton Bowl
record for the longest scoring drive (tied with five other occurrences). It also tied for the second-longest scoring drive in OU bowl history, matching a 97-yard drive in the 1965 Gator Bowl vs. Florida State (1964 season). The longest OU drive in a bowl game is 99 yards, set in the 1980 Orange Bowl vs. Florida State (1979 season).

• Marvin Mims’ nine TD receptions this season are tied for the most by a true freshman in Big 12 history (Jeff Fuller of Texas A&M had nine in 2008), and tied for second-most by any freshman in Big 12 annals (Texas Tech’s Michael Crabtree holds the record with 22 as a redshirt freshman in 2007; Iowa State’s Todd Blythe also had nine as a redshirt freshman in 2004 and Missouri’s Jeremy Maclin had nine as a redshirt freshman in 2007).

Follow us on Twitter: @SportsHeartland

Leave a Reply