Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield Recognized As College Football’s Player Of The Year

With the Heisman Trophy still to come, Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield has already collected a trophy case full of hardware. Baker collected the Maxwell Award, the Davey O’Brien Award, and was named the Walter Camp National Player of Year at the 2017 College Football Awards ceremony on Thursday night.

Mayfield beat out Stanford’s Bryce Love and Penn State’s Saquon Barkley for the Maxwell Award, given annually to the player of the year. More significantly, the last three winners of the Maxwell Award have also gone on to win the Heisman Trophy as well.

Mayfield led Oklahoma to their third consecutive Big 12 championship and put the Sooners in the hunt for a national championship with a berth in the College Football Playoff. He threw for 4,340 yards in 2017 with 41 touchdowns to only five interceptions.

The Heisman Trophy will be awarded from New York City on Saturday night with the only drama seeming to be the margin of votes Mayfield will win by.

Leave a Reply