Oklahoma State’s James Washington Wins Biletnikoff Award

For the second straight year the Fred Biletnikoff Award will reside in the state of Oklahoma. OSU receiver James Washington joined former star Justin Blackmon as the only other Cowboy to be honored as the nation’s top wide receiver. Blackmon won the awards in back-to-back years of 2010 and 2011, meaning Washington’s reception of the award, on Thursday night, marks the third time an Oklahoma State player has received the honor.

Washington punished Big 12 defenses for a career high 1,423 yards in 2017. The 6-1/205 standout from Stamford, Texas averaged 20.6 yards per reception and hauled in 12 touchdown passes. His best game of 2017 came against Baylor where he caught six passes for 235 yards (39.2 YPC) and a score in OSU’s 59-16 rout of the Bears. Not only did he see a career high in receiving yards in 2017, Washington also enjoyed notching career marks in touchdown receptions and yards per reception as well. The 2017 season also marked the third consecutive year Washington went over 1,000 yards in receiving.


Oklahoma’s Dede Westbrook won the¬†Biletnikoff last year, making it the second year in a row a player from the state of Oklahoma has received the award.

Leave a Reply