Oklahoma Sooners

Oklahoma’s Jonathan Alvarez On Rimington Watch List

M. Hofeld


The summer watch list season is finally upon us and Oklahoma’s Jonathan Alvarez is the first Sooner to be named to one. Alvarez was one of five Big 12 offensive linemen to be named to the Rimington Trophy watch list.

The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the nation’s most outstanding center and will be announced at the end of the season. The winner based on which center receives the most first-team votes from the Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America’s All-America teams.

Big 12 Offensive Linemen On The Rimington Watch List

  •  Sam Tecklenburg, junior, Baylor
  • Adam Holtorf, junior, Kansas State
  • Jonathan Alvarez, senior, Oklahoma
  • Zach Shackelford, junior, Texas
  • Paul Stawarz, senior, Texas Tech

Only one Big 12 player has ever won the Rimington Trophy. Nebraska’s Dominic Raiola was awarded in 2000. West Virginia’s Dan Mozes (2006) and TCU’s Jake Kirkpatrick (2010) also won the award, but the schools were in the Big East and Mountain West Conference, respectively, at the time.

No current member of the Big 12 has ever had a player win the award.



Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: