Kyler Murray Among Twenty Semifinalists For Maxwell Award

Maxwell Football Club President Mark Dianno announced the twenty semifinalists for the 2018 Maxwell Award and Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray was among them. The semifinalists, for the award honoring the nation’s Collegiate Player of the Year, selected by a comprised group of the Maxwell Football Club, Pro Football Focus (PFF) and Phil Steele Publications.

On the season, Murray has completed 73% of his passes for 2,329 yards and 28 touchdowns. He’s also second on the team in rushing (474 yards) with an average of 6.7 yards per carry and six more touchdowns.

Semifinalist voting by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Wednesday Oct. 31 and will close on Nov. 18. Three finalists will be announced on Nov. 19 and a second round of voting will take place at that time.

West Virginia’s Will Grier is also on the list. The two quarterbacks will face each other, to conclude the regular season, on November 23rd and could very well end up playing each other again in the Big 12 championship game.

Leave a Reply