Oklahoma Sooners

Oklahoma Sooners Football | Kyler Murray Named AP Player of the Year

Rich DeCray


After sizing up the competition, Kyler Murray was named the recipient of the AP Player of the Year award. Beating out the likes of Tua Tagovailoa and Dwayne Haskins, the quarterback becomes the second consecutive player from the University of Oklahoma to take home the award. In response, the junior said, “It’s humbling and an honor to be named AP Player of the Year, to be mentioned in the same realm as a lot of great players, a lot of hall of famers. It’s a special deal for me and hopefully I can continue to make my family and teammates proud.”

Proving to an elite dual-threat quarterback, Murray racked up 4,945 total yards of offense. The number ranks first in the country and it’s not even close. Accounting for 51 touchdowns this season, it’s difficult to describe exactly what this player means to the Sooners. A clear reason for a fourth consecutive Big 12 Championship, the work is far from over. Marching forward, Murray plans to lead the program into the College Football Playoff with a shot at a National Championship.

But, is there a bit of foreshadowing going on at this point in time? During the latter half of the season, Murray closed the gap on the Heisman race before overtaking Tagovailoa this past weekend. If memory serves me correctly, 75% of the time, the recipient of the AP Player of the Year Award goes on to claim the Heisman as well. If that stat holds true, Murray’s shot at taking home more hardware skyrockets!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: