Oklahoma Sooners

College Football Awards | Kyler Murray Claims Davey O’Brien, Misses On Maxwell

Rich DeCray


Stepping out onto the stage, Desmond Howard delivered a small speech as three hopefuls awaiting the presentation of the Maxwell Award. Given annually to the best all-around college football in the country, Kyler Murray, Tua Tagovailoa, and Will Grier sat on the edge of their seats in anticipation of the announcement. Unfortunately for Sooner Nation, the Oklahoma quarterback found himself being edged out.

Adding a bit of drama to the Heisman conversation, the past five winners of the Maxwell Award have gone on to win the most prestigious trophy in college football history. In the same breathe, 75% of the time the AP Player of the Year has taken home the Heisman — something that Murray claimed this season. Regardless, Murray did receive a bit of hardware during the College Football Awards night.

As a finalist for the Davey O’Brien Award, the Oklahoma Sooner posted a quarterback rating of 96.0 which is the highest in the past fifteen years. Accounting for 51 touchdowns this year, Murray averaged over 300 passing yards and over 60 rushing yards per game. In the history of the game, no quarterback from a power five conference has averaged similar numbers for an entire season. It’s for these reasons that Murray claimed the Davey O’Brien award given to the nation’s premier quarterback.

With much left to prove, Kyler Murray will trot out onto the field in the college football playoff against Tua Tagovailoa. Who will win the Heisman before a clash for the ages? Only time will tell.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: