Oklahoma Sooners

Oklahoma Sooners Football | Kyler Murray Named Big 12’s Male Athlete Of The Year

M. Hofeld


For the second consecutive year in a row the Big 12’s Male Athlete of the Year belongs to the University of Oklahoma. On Thursday the former Oklahoma quarterback, turned Heisman winner, turned number one draft pick was announced as the conference selection for the 2018-19 seasons.

Murray completed 260 of 377 passes on the year for 4,361 yards and 42 touchdowns while also running for 1,001 yards and another 12 scores to become just the second player in FBS history to throw for at least 4,000 yards and run for at least 1,000 in a season (Clemson’s Deshaun Watson).

In his only season as Oklahoma’s starting quarterback Murray led the Sooners to a 12-2 record in 2018, a fourth consecutive Big 12 championship, a second straight appearance in the College Football Playoff and a No. 4 final AP ranking.

Murray is the sixth OU male athlete and third in the last four seasons to earn the league’s athlete-of-the-year honor. Eleven Sooners have now been named Big 12 Athlete of the Year in the 23-year history of the league, including seven in the last seven years. 

Follow us on Twitter | @SportsHeartland

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: