Oklahoma Sooners, Oklahoma State Cowboys

Big 12 Baseball Awards Features Oklahoma State’s Newcomer of the Year

Rich DeCray


With the conclusion of the season, the Big 12 Conference has announced the 2018 All-Conference Baseball Awards. Transferring to Oklahoma State, Matt Croon made quite the impression. In 51 appearances this season, the newcomer recorded 12 doubles. The base running successes allowed the junior to score 28 times. Leading the conference in both statistical categories, it should come as no surprise that Croon earned the label of Newcomer of the Year.

Just a bit further south, Jake Irvin found his name on the All-Conference First Team list. A consistent presence on the mound for the Oklahoma Sooners this year, the junior made 11 appearances this year — all starts. Sporting a 3.33 ERA, the right-handed pitcher earned five wins to one loss and improved to a 17-6 career mark. Behind 78 strikeouts, Irvin was one of three unanimous first team selections this go around.

Here are the 2018 All-big 12 Baseball Awards as announced by Big12Sports.com

Player of the Year: Kody Clemens, Texas, Jr., INF, Houston, Texas/Memorial
Pitcher of the Year: Cody Bradford, Baylor, So., LHP, Aledo, Texas/Aledo
Newcomer of the Year: Matt Kroon, Oklahoma State, Jr., INF, Scottsdale, Ariz./Central Arizona CC
Freshman of the Year: Gabe Holt, Texas Tech, INF, Bonaire, Ga./Veterans
Coach of the Year: David Pierce, Texas

All-Big 12 First Team
Shea Langeliers, Baylor+%, C, So., Keller, Texas/Keller
Josh Jung, Texas Tech*+%, INF, So, San Antonio, Texas/MacArthur
Davis Wendzel, Baylor%@, INF,  So., San Clemente, Calif./Jserra Catholic
Kody Clemens, Texas*, INF, Jr., Houston, Texas/Memorial
Gabe Holt, Texas Tech, INF, Fr., Bonaire, Ga./Veterans
Kyle Gray, West Virginia*@, INF, Jr., Blanco, Texas/Blanco
Steele Walker, Oklahoma^!, OF, Jr., Prosper, Texas/Prosper
Duke Ellis, Texas, OF, So., Nacogdoches, Texas/Panola College
Grant Little, Texas Tech*%, OF, So., Midland, Texas/Midland Christian
Will Brennan, K-State+%, UTL, So., Stilwell, Kan./Blue Valley
Zach Zubia, Texas, DH, Fr., Richmond, Texas/Strake Jesuit
Zach Rheams, Texas Tech, DH, Sr., Angleton, Texas/Brazoswood
Cody Bradford, Baylor, LHP, So., Aledo, Texas/Aledo
Jake Irvin, Oklahoma*@, RHP, Jr., Bloomington, Minn./Jefferson
Carson Teel, Oklahoma State, LHP, Jr., Stillwater, Okla./Stillwater
Caleb Kilian, Texas Tech, RHP, So., Flower Mound, Texas/Flower Mound
Austin Hansen, Oklahoma, RHP, Jr., Lenexa, Kan./Olathe Northwest
Durbin Feltman, TCU@!, RHP, Jr., Conroe, Texas/Oak Ridge

All-Big 12 Second Team
Colin Simpson, Oklahoma State@, C, Jr.,  Edmond, Okla./Memorial
David Hamilton, Texas%, INF, So., San Marcos, Texas/San Marcos
Andy Thomas, Baylor, INF, So., Murrieta, Calif./Murrieta
Brylie Ware, Oklahoma^, INF, Jr., Sedgwick, Kan./ Neosho CC
Matt Kroon, Oklahoma State, INF, Jr., Scottsdale, Ariz./Central Arizona CC
Michael Neustifter, Oklahoma State, INF, So., Carrollton, Texas/Hebron
Jon Littell, Oklahoma State, OF, Sr., Stillwater, Okla./Stillwater
Josh Watson, TCU!, OF, Jr., Arlington, Texas/Martin
Darius Hill, West Virginia,@&, OF, Jr., Dallas, Texas/Dallas Jesuit
Nick Loftin, Baylor  UTL, Fr., Corpus Christi, Texas/W.B. Ray
Richard Cunningham, Baylor@, DH, Jr., Austin, Texas/Stephen F. Austin HS
Ryan Zeferjahn, Kansas, RHP, So., Topeka, Kan./Seaman
Nathan Wiles, Oklahoma, RHP, So., Overland Park, Kan./Blue Valley West
Nick Lodolo, TCU+%, LHP, So., LaVerne, Calif./Damien
Blair Henley, Texas, RHP, So., Fort Worth, Texas/Arlington Heights
Troy Montemayor, Baylor^#, RHP, Sr., San Antonio, Texas/Reagan
Andy McGuire, Texas, RHP, Jr., Oakton, Va./James Madison HS

Honorable Mention
Baylor – Josh Bissonette, Joe Heineman, Hayden Kettler
Kansas – James Consentino, Ryan Cyr, Devin Foyle, Jaxx Groshans, Zack LeBan
K-State – Drew Mount
Oklahoma – Connor Berry, Cade Harris, Brady Lindsly, Kyle Mendenhall, Kyler Murray, Brandon Zaragoza
Oklahoma State – Peyton Battenfield, Trevor Boone, Christian Funk, Joe Lienhard, Carson McCusker, C.J. Varela
Texas – Parker Joe Robinson; TCU – A.J. Balta, Adam Oviedo
West Virginia – Tyler Doanes, Ivan Gonzalez, Marques Inman, Isaiah Kearns, Kade Strowd, Brandon White, Braden Zarbnisky

All-Freshman Team
Davion Downey, Baylor, OF, Bowling Green, Ky./Warren East
Nick Loftin, Baylor*, UTL, Corpus Christi, Texas/W.B. Ray
Tyler Thomas, Baylor, SP, Keller, Texas/Keller
Levi Prater, Oklahoma*, LHP, Ada, Okla./Byng
Coby Boulware, TCU, INF, Anthem, Ariz./Boulder Creek
Augie Mihlbauer, TCU, LHP, Mukwonago, Wisc./Mukwonago
Adam Oviedo, TCU, INF, Grandview, Texas/Alvarado
Caleb Sloan, TCU, RHP, Centennial, Colo./Regis Jesuit
Kamron Fields, Texas, UTL, Garland, Texas/Lakeview Centennial
Zach Zubia, Texas*, DH, Richmond, Texas/Strake Jesuit
Gabe Holt, Texas Tech*, 2B, Bonaire, Ga./Veterans
Tyler Doanes, West Virginia, UTL, Fayetteville, Ga./Whitewater

* Unanimous Choice  
^ 2017 First Team Honoree               
+ 2017 Second Team Honoree                     
@ 2017 Honorable Mention
% 2017 All-Freshman Team  
# 2016 First Team Honoree
& 2016 Second Team Honoree         
! 2016 Honorable Mention

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: