Field Is Set For OKC | Sooners Will Play WCWS Opener Thursday Afternoon

With Florida State punching their ticket late Saturday night, the field of eight is officially set for Oklahoma City. Arizona State, Florida, Florida State, Georgia, Oklahoma, Oregon, UCLA, and Washington will all make their way to ASA Hall of Fame Stadium for the Women’s College World Series.


Oklahoma softball opens play at the 2018 Women’s College World Series Thursday at 1:30 p.m. CT against Washington. It will mark the fifth time the Sooners have faced the Huskies in the Women’s College World Series, and 10th postseason meeting overall. The two programs last met at the 2017 WCWS, with OU earning a 3-1 victory.

Oklahoma’s WCWS opener against Washington will be televised on ESPN.

The Women’s College World Series is played in a double elimination format. That sets up a second game match-up against either top-seeded Oregon (52-8) or Arizona State (48-11).  A win over Washington would put the Sooners playing on Friday at 6 p.m. CT, while a loss would have Oklahoma play its second game Saturday at 11 a.m.


2 Replies to “Field Is Set For OKC | Sooners Will Play WCWS Opener Thursday Afternoon”

  1. So much of the “powerhouse” SEC having the most teams represented here. Maybe the committee will rethink inviting all 13 teams to be a part of the NCAA Tournament next year.

    1. Well…I can tell you from first-hand experience that Missouri didn’t deserve to be there. The only thing they had on Boston University and Tulsa was depth. If Tulsa had two pitchers instead of just one the Missouri wouldn’t have made it to the regional finals.

Leave a Reply