Oklahoma Sooners, Oklahoma State Cowboys

Big 12 All-Decade Team | Quarterback

M. Hofeld


In the decade from 2010-2019 the Big 12 saw three generational quarterbacks who changed the game. All three went on to win a Heisman Trophy and all three etched their place in college football history. However, one of those three stands out more than the rest.

From 2015-2017 Baker Mayfield was the face of football in the Big 12. Winning three consecutive conference championships and making two appearances in the College Football Playoff, Mayfield drew praise from fans and hate from opponents. His confidence and flamboyant style of play caused a heavy share of people to cheer against him but his continued success on the field proved that any attempt to get under his skin would ultimately just come back to hurt you.

In three seasons at Oklahoma Mayfield completed nearly 70% of his passes (69.8) for 12,292 yards, 119 touchdowns, and an average of 10.6 yards per attempt. The Sooners went 34-6 with Mayfield at the helm. That wasn’t just the best three-year stretch for a Big 12 quarterback, it was one of the best in the nation.

Honorable Mention

Robert Griffin III – A knee injury in 2009 prevented us from seeing four full years of RG3 at the helm of the Baylor offense. However, what we say was absolutely fantastic! He threw for 10,366 yards, and 78 touchdowns, with a 67.1 completion percentage.

In addition he ran for 2,199 yards and 32 touchdowns during his collegiate career, making him one of the most dangerous quarterbacks in the nation.

Following the 2011 season (4,293 passing yards/699 rushing yards) Griffin was awarded the Heisman Trophy.

Kyler Murray – The college football world was only treated to just one full season of Kyler Murray but it sure was a magical season. In 2018 Murray led the Sooners to a Big 12 championship and College Football Playoff berth by completing 69% of his passes for 4,361 yards and 42 touchdowns while also running for 1,001 yards and another 12 scores.

Murray became the Big 12’s third Heisman Trophy winner of the decade while leading Oklahoma to a 12-2 record.

Brandon Weeden – A two-year starter at Oklahoma State, Weeden threw for 9,260 yards in his collegiate career with 75 passing touchdowns. The fact that he’s the only non-Heisman winner to make this list shows just how special he was.

In 2011 Weeden completed 72.4% of his passes for 4727 yards and 37 touchdowns to lead the Cowboys to the Big 12 title.

Alright that it for quarterbacks. Let us know who we missed out on in the comments section.

Follow us on Twitter: @SportsHeartland

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: